Section 1 (A-E) |
Section 2 (F-J) |
Section 3 (K-O) |
Section 5 (P-T) |
Section 6 (U-Z) |
|
|
|
|
First Grocery |
Forest Primeval |
Fresh Start |
Fortes |
Genslers Trailer
Court |
Giese's Indian
Lodge |
Golden Pines |
Harvey Tavern |
Hearth, The |
Heart 'O Woods Site |
Hiller's Pine Haven |
Hodge Podge Lodge |
Hubba Bubba |
Hunter's Log Cabin Resort |
Hunter School |
Idle Hours Resort |
Jack Pine Lodge |
Jack's Sport & Marine |
Jackson's Lakeside Cottages |
Jackson School |
Jaeger's Liquor Store |
Jeannie's Weinies |
Juve Road |
Juve School |
|
First Grocery
Al
Camp and
his wife, Ruth ,
started the first area grocery store in their house on
this site (1st photo) in the late 1940's. It is located
on Highway 70 E, across from Evergreen Ranch and along
the Little St. Germain River. The house is to the
right, of the garage and behind the trees. This home
has gone through several owners since then. The
second photo shows the Camp's store as it was first built on
the mall. The third photo shows Al and Ruth standing in
front of their store. Judging from the positions of the
parked cars and the shadows, the 2nd and 3rd photos were
taken within a very short time of each other in spite of
the fact that one is color and the other black and
white.. The third photo shows some later remodeling. The
fourth photo shows the store as it was before the
current new one was built. This now houses Weber's
Wooden Nickel and the
Community First Church of Christ's
store.
Top
|
|
Forest Primeval
Forest Primeval was one of two of John
Vandervort's resorts on Lost Lake, which included
a large amount of shoreline. This resort also included
what is known as the "Stone House" which was one of the
guest houses on the resort. Forest Primeval Road is
named after this resort.
Top
|
|
Fresh Start

"Fresh Start" is a flower and
plant business on Hwy 70 operated by Marlene
Bartelt, a long-time
resident of St. Germain and daughter of Ewald
Anderson.
Top
|
|
Fortes

This tavern on the junction of Hwy 70 and O was operated
by Terry Lindstrom. More
information can be found under the
Waukegan.
Top
|
|
Gensler's Trailer Court

George Gensler purchased "Ma"
Johnson's and
operated it as Club 155 for decades. After he sold it,
he continued to run this beer tavern and trailer park on
Found Lake along Juve
Road until
he passed away. This
is a photo of the beer bar as you would turn into the
trailer park from Juve Road.
Top
|
|
Giese's Indian Lodge
This was operated by Glenn
Giese until
he sold it and moved to Redgranite, WI. More information
regarding this site can be found under Harvey
Tavern.
Top
|
|
Golden Pines
Chuck and Sharon (Last names unknown) purchased Giese's
Indian Lodge from Glen
Giese and
renamed it Golden Pines. More information regarding this
site can be found under Harvey
Tavern.
Top
|
|
Harvey Tavern

This was built in the 1920's by Joe
Zellner, the
same person who built what is now Sisters Saloon (The
Peacock) and Murmuring
Waters. A
man who's last name was Harvey was the original owner
and this place also included cabins on both sides of it
and down to the Lake. The cabins were all sold through
the years by various owners. Joe
Molgaard purchased
this from Harvey and changed the name to Molgaard's
Indian Lodge. He operated this supper club for
decades and it became nationally known. There was a
complete meat cutting department in the basement and the
meat served was hand cut. Molgaard's specialty was a
hand-cut steak called the "Butter Ball." There were not
many that could be cut, so it was always in short
supply. Lucky was the steak lover, who managed to order
it and it was in supply.
Molgaard retired and sold his
restaurant to Glenn
Giese, who changed
the name to "Giese's Indian Lodge." Giese ran it
for several years, then sold it. The new owners
changed the name to "Golden Pines."
Some old-timers used to claim
the place is haunted because someone hanged himself in
the attic. There has never been any verification
or authentication found of such a hanging, but the story
lingers. Giese converted the attic into living
quarters and never had a problem with any ghosts.
Top
|
|
The Hearth

This
supper club was originally known as "The Hearth," named
for the large fireplace in the center of the dining
room. It was originally built and operated by
Floyd Rogers.
The house, partially seen on the left, was where Floyd
lived. Ed
Reid, Sr. purchased
The Hearth in 1971 and renamed it Spang's Italian
Restaurant. He operated it for many years, then turned
over management to his son, Joe
Reid. The
fence and addition behind the fence were built by Ed and
were not there when it was known as The Hearth.
Top
|
|
Heart 'O the Woods Site

The "Heart
O' the Woods" was located on Hwy 155, outside of St.
Germain. It was originally built by Frank
Zaruba in
the 1930's. He operated it for some years, then his
son, Leon
Zaruba, took over. The
tavern was then sold to a fellow who's last name was
Raster. Raster also later owned Pride
of the North Resort on
Little St. Germain. The Heart was later sold to Frank
Grabinski, who operated it for several years. It was
then purchased by Katie
Borke and
her husband. Her husband
passed away and Katie sold it to Tom
Zimmerman in
1975.
Tom Zimmerman ran
it for a few years, then sold it to someone else (person
unknown), who eventually sold it to Tony "Have
I got a deal for you!" Pulec.
Tony built a thriving business and it was certainly one
of the most popular taverns in the area. He
started "Mexican Night" in the area, which was a big
success and other taverns soon followed. He also purchased a tavern on the Jct of
70 and 51, renaming it "Heart II" for
his son, Steven to
operate. After many successful years, Tony sold the tavern to
Charles (Chuck) and Beverly Altamore. The "Heart"
burned down. sometime after this and all that is left is
this empty lot.
Top
|
|
Hiller's Pine Haven
This resort is located at the end of Paton Road on West
Bay of Little St. Germain Lake. We do not know the
original owner, but it was purchased by Lester
Hiller in the 1950's. It is currently operated by
his grandson, Mark
Hiller.
Top
|
|
Hodge Podge Lodge
This was another very short-term restaurant operation
when Jack Koch and his wife, Nancy purchased what was once
Eliason's Some Place Else.
Top
|
|
Hubba Bubba

Hubba Hubba was originally built and operated for many
years by Elwood
DeNoyer. The year it was built is not known,
but old-timers claim it was in the late-1940's.. A
photograph of the interior bar in an unknown year shows a sign that says
the Friday Night Fish Fry was seventy-five cents (and it
wasn't cod).
Jack and Judy
McGregor purchased
Hubba Hubba in 1971 and changed the name to Blink
Bonnie, a Scottish name. They added the addition
which can be distinguished on the left half of the
building. The right side with the vertical logs is
the original Hubba Hubba building. .Judy built Blink
Bonnie into being the Number #1 steak house in the
area. When she passed away, her son, Jim
McGregor,
took over management of it.
Top
|
|
Hunter's Log Cabin Resort

Jack Hunter and
his wife "Kit" built
Hunter's Log Cabin Resort on the north shore of Big St.
Germain Lake and operated it for many years. It was one
of the first three resorts on the lake. The other two
were Muskie
Inn and Jack
Pine Lodge. It was eventually sold to Joe and Mary
Osier and
"Bo"
and Laurie
Bodecker. Eventually,
Osier bought out Bodecker and it became known as Osier's
Resort. After Osier sold it many years later, the main
building was torn down and a new one built in its place
and renamed Fibber's. When you are inside Fibber's,
Osier's kitchen was where the current bar is now. The
old bar (Osier's) was to the left, which is the dining
area.
This photograph is after Fibber's rebuilt it, but the
building retains its basic structure. The exterior was
white when Joe Osier owned it.
Top
|
|
Hunter School
Hunter School was probably built sometime after the Juve and Jackson
Schools.
No one today seems to know exactly where this school was
located. However, its name would indicate that it was
in the vicinity of
Hunter's Log Cabin Resort.
Top
|
|
Idle Hours Resort
This resort is located on East Bay of Little St. Germain
Lake. The earliest known owner was a man whose last name
was Eschweiler. He owned this resort from 1947 - 1948.
It was then owned for 6 or 8 years by a man whose last
name was Hoffman. He sold the resort to Cass Andrews.
A man with the last name of Hone owned it from 1969-1973
and it was then purchased by Jim Milady. Jim ran it
until 1977 when it was sold to Boyd
Best. The resort is currently managed by Boyd's
son, Thomas.
Top
|
|
Jack Pine Lodge
This was the
third resort built on Big St. Germain Lake. It was
built and operated by Alexander
McGregor, Sr.
In time, management was turned over to
Alexander McGregor, Jr.
After many years, the resort was divided among
Alexander, Jr.'s children. Exactly how the resort was
divided is not known. Lionell and Jenny (daughter
of Alexander, Jr.) Rux operated
some cottages under the name of Rux's Cabins. Another
part was eventually sold to David
Haverkampf
under the name
Sunrise Shores and still goes by that
name.
Top
|
|
Jack's Sport & Marine
There were actually two in a row with this name. The
first was owned by
Jack Mohn,
who then sold it to
Jack Koch
and he kept the name the same. More information on this
business can be found under Welch's
Sport Shop
Top
|
|
Jackson's Lakeside Cottages

This resort
on West Bay of Little St. Germain Lake was purchased in
the 1920's by George
H. Jackson. It became one
of the better-known resorts in the St. Germain area.
The resort is still operated by his grandsons, Thomas and Kenneth Jackson.
Top
|
|
Jackson School
Jackson School was a one-room 1-8
grade school that operated at the same time as the Juve
School. The Town of Farmington (which included
Cloverland) was established in 1907 and was divided into
two school districts. The Juve
School served
the northern district and the Jackson School served the
southern district. It was located by the farm that George
H. Jackson purchased
in 1903 near Finley Lake and eventually built Red
Oaks Resort.
The site of the Jackson School is difficult to find. It
is about 100 yards in the woods off Shields Road, but
there is nothing left of it but a slight depression in
the ground.
Top
|
|
Jaeger's Liquor Store

This was located on Hwy 155 not far from the junction of
Hwy 155 & Cty C. It was built and operated by Frank
Jaeger as
a liquor store in the late 1970's. There has
been no other known retail business here since he passed
away in 1985.
Top
|
|
Jeannies Weinies
This was a small camper trailer
that was converted into a hot dog stand by Nancy
Koch. She operated it in
front of Jack's
Sport Marine and
eventually sold it to Jeanne
Ray. The actual name of the
hot dog stand as run by Nancy Koch is unknown, but all
the residents referred to it as "Hon's Buns" because
Nancy tends to greet people with, "Hi, Hon!" When
Jeannie Ray bought the hot dog stand, Thomas
Rossi said,
"If it was called Hon's Buns, then it probably
should be called Jeannies Weinies now." The name stuck.
She operated the stand in what was an empty lot where
the Subway now stands.
Top
|
|
Juve Road

Juve Road is one of a dwindling number of higher traffic
canopied roads left around St. Germain. They are
steadily being widened and straightened because of
complaints from new people who are apparently incapable
of driving on anything less than an Interstate. The
road was named after the
Obert Juve
family, among our earliest residents, who had their farm
at the end of it.
Top
|
|
Juve School

This is the
site of the one-room, 1-8 grade Juve School. This
school served the northern school district of
Farmington. When the White School (Content
School) was built on the corner of Hwy 155 & 70
in 1923, the Juve School was used as the town hall. It
was located on the corner of Juve and Moon Roads, but
there is not trace left. John
Vandervort taught
in this school. Oscar
Eliason was
a student as were the Juve boys.
Top
|
|
|