Section 1 (A-E) |
Section 2 (F-J) |
Section 3 (K-O) |
Section 4 (P-T) |
Section 5 (U-Z) |
|
Voeke's Resort |
Waukegan, The |
Weber's Tavern |
Weber's Texaco |
Weber's Wildlife |
Weise's Resort |
Welch's Sport Shop |
Wessel's Gas Station |
West Bay Resort |
Wolf Pack Cafe |
|
|
|
|
|
|
Voeke's Resort
The Voeke family purchased Radue's
Resort from William Radue
and operated it for several years. More information can
be found on Radue's Resort.
Top
|
|
The Waukegan

The person who built and first
operated this tavern is unknown According to Janet
Jackson, it was here when
she and her family moved here in 1951. It has been
known as the Waukegan for decades and still is by our
local old-timers. It is located on the Jct. of Hwy 70
East and Cty O.
It was sold
to Kenneth
Clark in
1978 and he kept the name the same. He ran it for
a few years, then sold it (unknown name). This
owner kept the name the same, too. He advertised
the place as the "Home of the Five-Pound Hamburger,"
which he actually did sell. John Ingram and Sparky
(last name unknown) purchased it and renamed it the
Wholefamdamily. This was then sold to Terry
Lindstrom and
renamed Fortes. Terry ran it for several years and
sold it to Bob and Kathy (Last name unknown). They
renamed it Bob Katz.
Top
|
|
Weber's Tavern
This tavern was purchased from John Lester by
Ray Weber.
Ray operated it for several years and put on a magic
show every Saturday for children. He eventually sold the
tavern to Bernie Kazda. More information on this
building can be found under
Qualy's Tavern.
Top
|
|
Weber's Texaco

Gifford Weber built
this building and operated a Texaco station here on Hwy
70 for many years. It is not known exactly when he
built this or when the station closed and was sold. The
building was eventually converted into a private home.
Neff's Shoe Repair was located in the house just behind
this. After Neff sold in it 2003, the Shoe Repair Shop
became a gift shop. What it is now is anyone's guess.
Top
|
|
Weber's Wildlife

Leonard Weber built
and operated this tavern and petting zoo in 1945. It is
not known if the tavern and zoo were constructed at the
same time or the zoo came later. He passed away in 1973
and his wife, Ellen,
continued running it for several years. Eventually, she
retired and handed over management to her son, Roger. Weber's
Wildlife is well-known for its bears. The young ones
are usually removed from the mother in February, which
draws a large crowd of people. People come from far and
wide to see and pet the baby bears. The cubs are
eventually sold and go their separate ways. One of the
Weber bears ended up in Hollywood.
Top
|
|
Weise's Resort
The Weise family purchased this
resort and changed the name from OK Resort to Weise's
Resort. They built the stone pillars at the entrance to
the resort and placed a Y on one and a Z on the other
representing the pronunciation of their name. More
information on this resort can be found under OK Resort.
Top
|
|
Welch's Sport Shop

Allen Welch built
this bait and tackle shop on the junction of Hwy 70 and
J just below where the Thunderbird is today. The
Thunderbird did not exist at this time. This
building still exists along the side of J.
The second photgraph shows the original sport shop as
Welch built it on the mall. He continued to exand it
through the years and the third photograph shows it
pretty much as it is today.
It was the first building
(Second Photo) in the mall/junction area. Allen
sold it to Kenneth
Clark, who changed the name
to St. Germain Sport and Marine in 1968. It was
eventually sold to Jack
Mohn. Jack changed
the name to Jack's Sport and Marine. Jack operated
it a few years and sold it to Jack
Koch, who kept the name the
same. Jack Koch operated it for twelve years and
sold it to Tom Christiansen. Tom changed the name
to St. Germain Sport Marine, dropping the "and" between
"Sport and Marine."
Top
|
|
Wessel's Gas Station

This building on Hwy 70 by Cedaroma
Resort was
an early gas station. It was built in the late 1930's
by a man who's last name was Wessel and it was then part
of the resort. Clarence
Rux leased
and operated this gas station when he arrived here in
1945. He ran it until 1953 when he built and opened Rux's
Standard Station. Wessel then sold it, along
with the resort, to a man who's last name was
Volpintesta (sic). Early residents still remember him
sitting in his rocking chair at the station with his
long gray beard, smoking his old pipe. After he sold it
the resort, the station was unused and began to fall
into disrepair. It no longer exists.
Top
|
|
West Bay Resort
This originally was Sisson's
Resort 2. It was eventually purchased by
John Armentrout
from Walter Perk.
More information on this resort can be found under
Sisson's Resort 2.
The resort has been totally PSL'd.
Top
|
|
Wolf Pack Cafe
More information on this
restaurant can be found under
Ellie's Restaurant.
Top
|
|